KENTUCKY BOARD OF MEDICAL LICENSURE
SUMMARY OF HB 1

The following is a summary of HB 1, which was passed during the “Special Session” of
the Kentucky General Assembly in April of 2012. Please note that a copy of HB 1 is
available for review on the Board’s website, www.kbml.ky.gov.

PAIN MANAGEMENT FACILITIES

Definition: facility where majority of patients provided controlled substances for pain
AND

a) primary practice component is treatment of pain; or

b) facility advertises any type of pain management services

Exemptions: Definition does not apply to:

- Hospital, including critical access; hospital-owned facility or office of hospital-
employed physician;

- Educational institution/program to extent it provides education to potential
health care licensees

- Hospice program or residential hospice facility

- Ambulatory surgical center

- Long-term care facility.

Ownership Requirement: Only physician with full active license may own or has
investment interest in pain management facility.

Grandfather provision: This requirement does not apply to any facility
existing/operating as of July 20, unless there is administrative sanction/criminal
conviction, relating to controlled substances, imposed on facility or employee for
act/omission done within scope of facility’s license or person’s employment

Oversight Requirement: At least one physician-owner or physician-designee must be
on-site practicing medicine at least 50% of the time.
To qualify, physician-owner or physician-designee must:
- Hold current ABMS subspecialty certification or current AOABOS certificate of
added qualification in pain management, or
- Hold current ABMS subspecialty certification or AOABOS certificate of added
qualification in hospice and palliative care; or
- Hold current board certification by American Board of Pain Medicine; or
- Hold current board certification by American Board of Interventional Pain
Physicians; or
- Have completed accredited residency or fellowship in pain management.



http://www.kbml.ky.gov/

Method of Payment

1. Facility must accept private health insurance as one means of payment for goods/
services

2. Facility must only accept payment for goods/services from patient, patient’s insurer
or guarantor, patient’s parent or spouse or patient’s guardian or legal custodian.

Means of Enforcement

1. Cabinet for Health and Family Services will enforce these provisions for facilities
licensed by Cabinet.

2. Board of Medical Licensure will enforce these provisions for facilities operating as
private office or clinic of licensed physician.

Criminal Sanction Violation of any provision of this section is Class A Misdemeanor.

INTER-AGENCY REPORTING

Definition: “Reporting Agency” includes
- Kentucky State Police
- Office of Attorney General
- Cabinet for Health and Family Services
- Applicable licensing boards.

Sharing of Prescribing/Dispensing Reports Any reporting agency who receives a report
of improper, inappropriate or illegal controlled substance prescribing or dispensing may
report it to the other reporting agencies within 3 business days.

Reporting of Criminal Actions County and Commonwealth Attorneys shall report felony
charges against a licensed person to the Attorney General and applicable licensing
Board within 3 business days if the indictment relates to manufacture of, trafficking in,
prescribing, dispensing, or possession of a controlled substance.

REQUIRED BOARD REGULATIONS

Board Involved:
- Medical Licensure
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Optometric Examiners
- Podiatry
- Any board licensing/regulating persons entitled to prescribe/dispense controlled
substances.




Required Regulations By September 1, 2012, each involved Board must promulgate the

following regulations:

1.
2.

mandatory prescribing and dispensing standards for controlled substances;
48-hour limit on licensee dispensing Schedule Il or Il hydrocodone substances
unless dispensing is part of narcotic treatment program licensed by Cabinet
Procedures for emergency suspension or restriction of licensee when there is
substantial likelihood that their practice constitutes danger to patients or public
Process for expedited review of allegations of improper, inappropriate or illegal
prescribing/dispensing of controlled substances, with following timelines:
- Must commence investigation within 7 days of report
- Must produce charging decision within 120 days of report
Mandatory licensing standards that include:
- Reporting requirement for criminal convictions or licensing actions
relating to controlled substances
- Permanent ban on prescribing/dispensing controlled substances for
felony conviction relating to controlled substances
- Less than permanent ban on prescribing/dispensing controlled
substances for misdemeanor conviction relating to controlled substances
- Restrictions mirroring disciplinary action taken by another licensing
board relating to prescribing/dispensing controlled substances
Process for continuous reporting disciplinary actions to National Practitioner
Data Bank
Process for obtaining FBI or KSP criminal background and National Practitioner
Data Bank checks on initial applicants
CME requirements ensuring licensees obtain 7.5% of their required CME for
reporting period in pain management, addiction disorders, or electronic
monitoring

Necessary Regulations Although not mandated, requirements for Boards would likely

require regulations on the following subjects:

1.
2.
3.

4.

Regulation of physicians operating pain management office or clinic

Ensure Board does not require grievances to be notarized or sworn to.
Determine whether to allow anonymous grievances, with assurance there is
sufficient corroborative information to warrant investigation

Determine actions taken against licensees not registered with KASPER

Suggested Regulation The Office of Drug Control Policy has asked the Board to convert

its Opinion of the Use of Suboxone to a regulation.

NEW RESPONSIBILITIES FOR BOARDS

Regulation of Pain Management Clinics Boards must enforce provisions of Pain

Management Clinic section if it clinic is physician’s office or clinic.



Use of Consultants Boards must employ or obtain services of pain treatment and drug
addiction specialists to evaluate investigations to determine if licensee is engaged in
improper, inappropriate or illegal practices relating to prescribing/dispensing practices,
if Board or its staff does not possess such expertise.

Cooperation Boards must cooperate to fullest extent permitted with law enforcement
agencies and other licensing boards

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS FOR PRESCRIBING/DISPENSING SCHEDULE 1l OR
SCHEDULE 11l WITH HYDROCODONE

Requirements Before Prescribing/Dispensing Before initial prescribing/dispensing
Schedule Il or Schedule Ill with hydrocodone controlled substance, licensee shall:
1. Obtain complete medical history and document in record
2. Conduct physical examination and document in record
3. Query KASPER for all available data on patient
4. Make a written treatment plan setting out objectives of treatment and further
diagnostic exams required
5. Discuss risks/benefits of controlled substance use, including risk of tolerance and
dependence, with patient, patient’s parent if minor, or patient’s legal guardian
or surrogate, and
6. Obtain written consent for treatment.

Ongoing Evaluation

e Practitioner must review course of treatment at reasonable intervals, based
upon patient’s individual circumstance.

e Practitioner must provide patient with any new information about treatment.

e Practitioner must obtain KASPER at least once every 3 months for all available
date on patient.

e Practitioner must review KASPER report before issuing any prescriptions or refills
for these substances.

Record-Keeping Practitioner must keep accurate, readily accessible and complete
medical records on each patient receiving Schedule Il and Il including hydrocodone,
which must include:

- Medical history and physical exam

- Diagnostic, therapeutic, and laboratory results

- Evaluations and consultations

- Treatment objectives

- Discussion or risk, benefits, and limitations of treatments

- Treatments

- Medications, including date, type, dosage, and quantity prescribed or

dispensed




- Instructions and agreements, and
- Periodic reviews of patient’s file

Exemptions: The following practitioner’s are exempt from these requirements:

1. Licensee administering substance or anesthesia immediately prior to or during
surgery;

2. Licensee administering controlled substance necessary to treat in emergency
situation:

- At the scene of an emergency
- Inlicensed ground or air ambulance, or
- In ED or ICU of licensed hospital

3. Licensed pharmacist or Board of Pharmacy licensee dispensing drugs to licensed
pharmacy;

4. Licensee prescribing/dispensing for hospice patient in scope of hospice program
or inpatient unit. Hospice program shall maintain plan of care in accordance
with federal regulations

5. Optometrist prescribing Schedule Ill, IV or V substance

6. Licensee prescribing 3-day supply of Schedule Il substance following oral surgery
by dentist.

KASPER

Program Administrator KASPER continues to be housed in and run by Cabinet for Health
and Family Services.

Required Registration
- Every practitioner authorized to prescribe/dispense controlled
substances shall register with Cabinet to use KASPER
- Every practitioner authorized to prescribe/dispense controlled
substances shall maintain their KASPER registration continuously during
their licensing
Enforcement: Cabinet will report failure to comply to licensing boards, who will treat it
as complaint.

Exceptions to KASPER Reporting KASPER reporting is not required for:
- Drug administered directly to a patient, unless drug is Schedule Il or llI
with hydrocodone
- Drug dispensed by practitioner/facility licensed by Cabinet for no more
than 48 hours, unless drug is Schedule Il or Il with hydrocodone.

Expansion of Practitioner’s Ability to Obtain KASPER Data:
- Employee of practice may obtain KASPER data on behalf of practitioner, if
under specific direction of practitioner




- May obtain KASPER report on prospective patient, in addition to bona
fide patient
- May obtain KASPER for purposes of:

1) reviewing and assessing individual prescribing/dispensing patterns of
the practitioner(Physicians can request a KASPER report on their own
prescribing practices); and
2) determining accuracy and completeness of KASPER information

Expanded Use of KASPER Info
- Practitioner may share KASPER report with patient or patient’s agent
- Practitioner may place KASPER report in patient’s medical record, subject
to disclosure on same terms as ordinary medical record

Error Resolution Process Cabinet must promulgate regulation to provide for error
resolution process. This would allow patient to request correction of inaccurate
information relating to that patient in the KASPER system.

Cabinet for Health and Family Services Reporting

- Cabinet shall proactively use data for investigations

- Cabinet shall notify licensing boards of possible improper, inappropriate
or illegal prescribing/dispensing

- Board will consider each report and may obtain follow-up report or
analysis containing relevant information about prescriber/dispenser or
their patients, after giving due consideration to practice area, specialty,
board certification, and standards of care

- If Cabinet deems it necessary and appropriate, may respond to board
request to provide identity of prescribers, dispensers, and patients used
to compile trend reports.

HospitalFacility Reviews Hospitals or health care facilities may ask Cabinet to review
KASPER data to determine if employees are engaged in inappropriate
prescribing/dispensing. Cabinet may conduct investigations as appropriate and request
assistance from hospital or facility relating to investigation.

Criminal Sanctions Good faith use of KASPER Reports is protected. The criminal
sanctions for failure to input data and for intentional unauthorized disclosure were
reduced from felonies to misdemeanors.

OTHER SECTIONS The Bill also includes sections relating to Coroner reporting and data
compilation, and interstate exchange of KASPER information.




